Say Goodbye to Your Black Stretchy Pants

My journey from a pregnant 200 lbs. to now

My journey from a pregnant 200 lbs. to now

I have had so many new moms reach out to me since reading my HH story wanting to know what my post baby weight loss secret is. How did I leave the hospital weighing nearly 200 lbs. and then go on to win a fitness competition? And more importantly, how did I then get back to feeling fit and healthy?

When Landry was 3 1/2 months old, the truth was that despite my decent effort, I was still wearing my pregnancy wardrobe staple; a pair of black stretch pants that were literally coming apart at the seams. On top of my clothes not fitting, I had postpartum depression and was edgy, irritable and lethargic.  While I commend the moms who could annoyingly wear their pre-pregnancy jeans one week after giving birth, I obviously was not one of them. These were also the moms who seemed to adjust to motherhood with ease and confidence.  I; however, was not one of them and my story was very different!  So at 3 1/2 months, when I got sick of living and feeling this way, I looked at myself in the mirror and made the choice to love myself enough to make a lifestyle change.  I was going to finally let go of the unrealistic expectation that my body was just going to go back to itself overnight. I decided then that it was going to take maximum effort and I needed to get 100% committed or stop complaining. It was time to take my life back over and make my health and fitness a priority for my child and myself.  It worked and I encourage all of you whose story is similar to mine to begin this New Year letting go of the excuses, the fears, and your own black stretchy “comfort pants” and to begin the process of embracing yourself and commit to a new healthy lifestyle. Whether your children are five months old, fifteen years old or out of the nest, the time is now!  Conquer one meal, one workout, and one day at a time.

1. Make up your mind to love yourself and to 100% commit to your new healthy lifestyle. Find a goal: whether it’s a fitness competition, road race, cross fit challenge etc.

2. Do not set unrealistic expectations that it will happen overnight.

3. Get a family plan! If you have a significant other, sit down with them at the beginning of the week and map out workout times that you both think is fair and stick to them. Even if it’s 5:30 am!

4. Stick to a consistent workout plan that will shock and challenge your body.

5. Most importantly throw out your old eating habits and crash diets out of the window! It is time for a new super clean, 100% committed lifestyle change. Plan each meal, eat 4-5 small meals and mindfully fuel your body with the nutrients it needs.

Love yourself to a healthy lifestyle.

Loren Silas

2 Responses to “Say Goodbye to Your Black Stretchy Pants”

  1. I love it…now is the time! I need to do this-do seething about it or stop complaining. Great story:)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

