A Fresh Start With a Little Help From My Friends

pretty cham

Hello! It’s Brooke. So, the holidays are winding down and life is returning to its normal, non-sparkly self (sigh). Now what? New Year’s resolutions, perhaps? Hmmm—I’ll pass, thanks. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for aspiring to be a better, more loving, dependable, and successful person. And not just at the start of the year, but every day! My problem with resolutions is following through with them. I love to dream up ideas and plan clever things, but implementing them is another thing entirely. I have many theories about my personal shortcomings, which include my difficulty with follow through, but I will spare you the bulk of this list. I tend to make my goals too general, without breaking them down into manageable steps. Also, I have a very hard time completing a goal that is not personally meaningful for me. So, my trick for dealing with myself is creating small, easily achievable action steps that either make me happy or bring me closer to something that is really important to me. As you can see, this annual plan of vaguely listing “things I’d like to do this next year” is not a helpful exercise for me. But in planning our NYE party, which turned out to fulfill a past resolution of ours to host more parties, I discovered a fun little game that did not go as planned but proved helpful all the same.

New Year’s Resolutions Lite

This party game, which I found on Real Simple.com (http://www.realsimple.com/holidays-entertaining/holidays/more-holidays/throw-easiest-new-years-eve-party-ever-10000001693331/index.html), is a variation on making New Year’s resolutions and look—small, easily identified and personal goals. Eureka! We printed the four “cards” out for everyone, and as people arrived, they finished each sentence on their cards anonymously. Then we shuffled the cards, and, had this game gone according to plan, we would have had one person read out each card and its answer, and we would have tried to guess whose answer it was, gaining thoughtful insight into everyone’s character. But lots of gaiety and alcohol ensued, and as midnight swiftly approached, we got distracted and forgot to read the cards. So, I’m going to share the NY resolutions of my dear friends with you now. Maybe they’ll provide you with some inspiration (or giggles). Enjoy!

Lisa, me, Sondra

My good friends Lisa and Sondra with me (center)

Card #1: The skill I want to learn this year is:

  • play banjo
  • sew
  • learn HTML coding and website design
  • how to make a tamale
  • play piano
  • how to make $1 million and not tell my girlfriends
  • statistics and accounting
  • rap
  • surviving in the wild
  • DJ-ing
  • distilling
  • French, Spanish, and yoga

Card #2: The good deed I want to do this year is:

  • serve others, do good, and do no harm (even to Sooner fans)
  • give homemade blankets to homeless people
  • none—I don’t do good deeds (!)
  • pick up someone who needs a ride
  • fill more needs as they present themselves
  • volunteer with a charitable organization
  • be more neighborly
  • talk with my mother more
  • eat veggies
  • share more of God’s blessings with others
  • charity work at an animal shelter
Ok, so the photographer had some champagne too! (me and Marzia)

Ok, so the photographer had some champagne too! (me and Marzia)

Card #3: The person I want to be more like this year is:

  • Jesus (x2)
  • King David
  • Lisa M.
  • Martha Beck
  • my grandpa
  • my friend Jessica, who knows how to not worry and to take one day at a time
  • the guy from the Dos Equis commercials
  • Brooke (thank you, sweet friend, whoever you are)
  • Thomas Paine
  • James Bond meets Walter White, but in a good way
  • Warren Buffett
  • John Wesley

Card #4: The bad habit I want to kick this year is:

  • picking eyebrows
  • tequila
  • slouching
  • drinking too much
  • road rage
  • staying up soooo late that I’m dead and tired the next day
  • waiting until next year to kick my bad habits
  • using the “F” word
  • messiness and lateness
  • procrastination
  • my messy room

Card #4 (write-in revision): The good habit I want to form this year is positivity and belief that I CAN!

What a great way to end! Isn’t that what resolutions are all about anyway, whether we make them officially at the beginning of the year or constantly, incessantly every day? Good luck to you in your dreams and aspirations in this new year, and may you find blessings and joy around every corner.

My sweet husband, John, and me

My sweet husband, John, and me

XO,

Brooke

Leave a Reply

