The Best Household Tool for the New Year!

Hello! I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas! Here we are about to start a new year! I am so looking forward to 2013, there are going to be some major changes this year for me! As a single mom and home/business owner my life can be a little hectic and overwhelming at times. I will be honest with you, keeping up a superwoman status is not an easy task for me, as it seems to be for others! It can be quite the challenge at times, good thing I’m always up for a challenge! 😉 I am always on the search on how to be more organized especially when it comes to running my household! I’m sure “Getting more organized at home” is a New Year’s resolutions for a few of you! A well-organized household can save  you money and valuable time! Household management can be a full-time job in itself, especially when you do everything yourself.  I want to share with you the best tool I have found to getting my household in order! The best tool for your home is a household notebook!

276267758361346495_QRLGOySt_b A household notebook is a planner you can purchase or make yourself to help organize your home and family! It can include anything and everything to seasonal maintainance schedules for your auto and home, cleaning checklists, household budget planning, garage sale checklist, goal setting for home improvements, or family vacation planning! Now I’m sure there are several apps out there for all this, and if they work for you that is awesome! I, on the other hand, prefer a binder or book that sits out visibly and accessible to everyone in the house. This will serve as a nice constant reminder to do things in a timely manner. Also anytime there is a list involved, you can get a great sense of accomplishment by crossing things off! I keep my binder on the kitchen counter or in the basket on the coffee table. While I’m having my morning coffee I can flip through it and see what upcoming projects may be due around the house and what I need to put on my to do list for the week. This is also a great time to get my thoughts organized for future plans. It’s a way of making plans from where you left off and not having to start over the thought process, (if you’re a mom that is constantly interupted, you will appreciate this one!) Having a household binder prevents things from piling up and keeps things from getting overwhelming. Think of it as a journal for the well-being of your home.

My new cover!

My new feel good cover!

Pick a binder with a cover or design one that is fun or pleasing to look at. Another great thing about creating your own household notebook is that you can customize it just for your particular needs for you and your family’s home You can have multiple binders for different subjects or simply one with different dividers. There are so many free printable pages on the web! You can go to different sites and download what templates work best for you! Here are some great sites to get you started!

http://www.homelifesimplified.com.au/household-notebook-free-printables-round-up/
http://www.organizinghomelife.com
http://frugalliving.about.com/od/householdsavings/tp/Household_Notebook.htm

 

Time for me to prepare for my major changes, I want to transition smoothly so time to look for some new pages to add to my book! And while I’m at it I think I will add to the kids chore list and lighten Mommy’s load!! Have a Happy, Healthy New Year! from Sandy’s house 😉

Leave a Reply

