Kids can goal set too!

So my oldest daughter asked me yesterday, “Mommy, can I go to the volleyball camp at UT again this summer?”. My response was initially, “most likely, but let’s see as it gets closer to summer.” But then I realized…wait…she is goal setting, no differently than she sees me do. I already know that I will be going to Vegas in the summer for Beachbody summit, so why is it so off for her to want to plan to attend a volleyball camp. This really got me thinking…each year right around this time, instead of coming up with a New Year’s Resolution, I write out my ten goals for the year. This year I think I will have Adrianna sit down and do that as well. She is 11 years old and more than capable of doing this with a little guidance.

So, how do you go about setting goals for the New Year?

1. write out as many things as you can think of that you wish or dream about….go big, dream big, and write limitless….just think brainstorming session

2. next, circle the ones that are achievable within one year’s time. Those that require more time, you can revisit next year when writing goals again (don’t throw away your brainstorming sheet year to year…keep it in a safe place or save it as a file on your computer)

3. Prioritize those goals in order of importance to you the best you can. Starting with 1 being the most important.

4. Underneath your goal list write an action plan…what will be some activities you will put in place to ensure that these goals happen.

Keep referring back to this list of ten goals at the end of each month to see where you are at…cross them off or put a check mark next to them as you achieve them.

Last year two of my major goals was to be on a fitness dvd and to be a top 10 coach for Beachbody, and both of those came true. Not because I wished them true, but because I worked for them…I had a goal and a plan and I followed through.

I am really excited to do this with my daughter….to see what some of her goals are and to help her achieve them. You are never too young to set goals, have dreams, and live BIG!

539578_593157551067_1666399517_n

One Trackback to “Kids can goal set too!”

Leave a Reply

