Happy Halloween!! Great Pumpkin!!

Hey BOO!! Happy Halloween everyone! Halloween is one of my favorite holidays, although I am a little bummed I didn’t make it to a costume party this year, so I think I will be dressing up with the kiddos tonight. We are going to be a vampire family, I refuse to grow up on sometimes ūüėČ ANYWAY… for my blog today I want to tell you all about the “Great Pumpkin” ¬†like I promised I would a couple of weeks ago. The pumpkin is to Halloween what the Christmas tree is to Christmas! It’s a must to have a Jack-O-Lantern at our house! We did our pumpkin carving last night, along with some other gourd goofiness!

The carving directors!

 

Yes we were chunkin’ pumpkins!!

My Pumpkins with their Pumpkins!

So do you know what this great vegeatation really is? Is it a vegetable or a fruit?

A pumpkin is not a vegetable; it’s a fruit! In fact, it’s a berry. Pumpkins belong to the cucurbit (gourd) ¬†family. A pumpkin is botanically a specialized form of a berry called a pepo, but in a culinary sense, it is a vegetable. That’s why this gets a little confusing. Just remember a fruit is always defined as a producing plant that contains seeds! And yes a pumpkin has some yummy seeds! Pumpkins can come ¬†in many shapes. sizes and colors.

That is what I love about this fruit , each one is it’s own individual work of art from nature! There are pumpkins for cooking, baking and some are grown just for displaying. If you have the space, growing your own ¬†gourds can be quite easy and fun. I remember picking ¬†gourds off the vines when I was a kid, and was ¬†delighted watching them grow because it was always a surprise on how each one was going to turn out. I promised my kids a pumpkin patch next year, well at least a plant or two ūüėČ

The other great thing about this fruit ūüėČ is that it is delicious and nutrious! It can be used in shakes and coffee to being served as a dessert or a side dish. ¬†Pumpkins are low in calories and sodium and high in fiber. And the tasty seeds I like, are high in protein, B-vitamins and iron. They are very high in the antioxident beta-carotene which helps maintain a healthy body and may help delay aging! So I’d say enjoy your pumpkins in more ways than one! But especially tonight while ¬†they are all burning bright!

¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† Have a fun and safe Happy ¬†Halloween! Now I better go get ready! I get to go play vampire!! ūüôā ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬†

Leave a Reply

