Like Fine Wine….Getting Better With Age

They say that fine wine gets better with age…and for me, I feel the same is true, sometimes, for people. I celebrated my 34th birthday this week, and can honestly tell you that I look and feel the best I have in my life. I am not scared of getting older, I embrace it. If I look back ten years ago to my 24th birthday, I can honestly say that I am in a better place emotionally, physically, financially, and spiritually. With age, comes time, and with time comes experience and with experience comes a different outlook on  situations, problems, adventures, and most importantly LIFE!

Age is just a number…we have all heard that before too. But its so true. Above is a picture of me, my two children (ages 11 and 6) and my own parents (ages 57 and 55). Why do my parents look and feel so young still? Diet and exercise. Do you know that my healthy habits really started with them? They have been into eating right and working out since I was a kid. I grew up knowing that fitness was a non-negotiable and that choosing fruits over desserts was important. Trust me, I was not “neglected” fun treats, ice cream, or pizza….but I did learn how good food can make you feel and how the power of exercise can give you the energy to OWN your day not just go through the motions.

 

When I left my parents house to go to college, my eating habits changed some, but not drastically. Sure I visited McDonald’s a few more times than I might have had I lived at home, but for the most part I was still eating healthy and I was certainly hitting the gym on a consistent basis. After college, when I got married and decided to have a family, I again knew….proper eating and exercise were a must. I cooked healthy meals, exercised during and after pregnancy. Those goals then led me to where I am today…living a healthy lifestyle and motivating others to do the same.

Are you noticing a pattern here?! Over time, you will age gracefully if you make it a consistent habit to eat right and exercise. There is no fountain of youth. There is no secret potion. There is no magic sauce. This is it…right here. When I tell people my age and the age of my children they are like surprised. Same with my parents. Why?! Because we take care of what we put in our bodies and we take care of the outside of our bodies by not living a yo yo way of life.

 

YOU CAN DO THIS TOO AND YOU CAN START TODAY!

 

It is never too late to reverse the hands of time and the aging process. Move more, eat less junk. Period!

 

If you aren’t sure where to start, here are a few options for you.

1. Join the Healthy Housewives Holiday challenge by visiting https://thehealthyhousewives.wordpress.com/2012/10/27/the-healthy-housewives-holiday-challenge/

2. Join me, Danielle, in one of my virtual accountability groups through the Beachbody challenge. To see more of what that is all about, watch this video: http://beachbodycoach.com/esuite/home/DanielleHinson?bctid=1857481259001

Leave a Reply

