Oh A Fabulous Find!

Hey Everybody!! It’s Sandy and I want to tell you about the great weekend I had! Last week,  I turned 47 years old, due to healthy living most of those years, 😉  and a little bit of silliness  this weekend I didn’t feel a day over 27!  🙂 For my birthday I treated myself to a weekend road trip with some  girlfriends to a  flea market. This was a hobby from my past that I have certainly missed. I love art, antiques and quite frankly unusual junk! My decor indoors and outdoors at my country home is very rustic and eclectic. One man’s junk is anothers man’s treasure! Right? Flea markets or trade days as some are called, to me are recycling at its best,  you can find priceless antiques, artsian-made crafts, vintage goodies and even some long lost memories of your childhood. I can’t count how many times I picked up an item and said, Ohhhhhh! I used to play with this at grandma’s house! Anyway… another great thing about these kind of shopping venues is it is  an excellent  place to find outdoor furniture, garden supplies, yard art, and  great plants!

Awesome pots!

I loved this water feature!

At flea markets you can find the most interesting and unique pots, I have obtained most of my outdoor structures from outdooor trade shows or yard sales. Wrought iron gates, trellises, plant stands or other garden furniture are very popular items to recycle at a flea markets. You never know what great finds you will make so I suggest you bring a truck or even a trailer to get your treasures home!

The kids have been wanting us to get chickens.
I came home with this! 😉

Flea markets are a fantastic source of  ‘garden art’. Garden art is anything that you personally see artistic or creative, so this can be different for all of us. I love whimsical art for outside! Some of this ‘art’ is temporary, but at a flea market, these fascinating objects are sometimes so cheap, they are worth getting, even if it means their charm will weather quickly in the outdoors.  They can be tossed and replaced by new oddities acquired at the next outdoor shopping spree. Or on the otherhand, you my find a statue or water feature that will last forever. 🙂

And last but not least, flea markets are a wonderful, source for plant buying. Some of the vendors have something rare or spectacular to sell, but most have prices that are impossible to beat.   The venders that sell plants at outdoor events are true passionate gardners and plant lovers.  I have probably received the best  green thumb advice from these people, not to mention the plants I  buy are very hearty and healthy and outlast any I have bought from a store.

So the next time you have a free weekend I suggest to check out a local flea market, it can be an interesting, entertaining eyeful event. You never know what treasure you may find….. even a little something you might have lost….. 🙂  Happy hunting!

One Comment to “Oh A Fabulous Find!”

  1. Howdy! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick
    shout out and say I truly enjoy reading your articles. Can you suggest
    any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects?

    Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

