Deodorant dilemma

Hi everyone, it’s Shanon G. For the last nine months for some strange reason I have not needed to wear deodorant! It’s very weird to me that as soon as I became pregnant I no longer needed it, but it’s something I just can’t explain and honestly I’m thrilled! This got me thinking, deodorant is a real dilemma for some people. You don’t want to smell or sweat, but you don’t want to use deodorant or anti-perspirant that has harmful toxins. The active ingredient in anti-perspirant is aluminum chlorohydrate (or sometimes aluminum zirconium), an astringent that is used as a topical antiperspirant or body deodorant. Although it’s the least irritating of the aluminum salts, it can still result in allergic reactions. But here’s where it gets stickier: Aluminum also happens to be a neurotoxin that alters the function of the blood-brain barrier, linking it to Alzheimer’s disease and cancer. We don’t have any conclusive proof, however, that antiperspirants actually increase your risk of getting Alzheimer’s.
Still, some research suggests that aluminum-based compounds, which are applied frequently and left on the skin near the breast, may be absorbed by the skin and result in estrogen-like behavior. Because the hormone has been known to promote the growth of breast-cancer cells, some researchers have suggested that aluminum-based compounds in antiperspirants could contribute to the development of breast cancer. Now that to me is scary stuff! I used to buy the anti-perspirant SURE before I did the research and realized what I was putting on my body. I then switched to a brand that my friend Marzia recommended to me called Crystal body deodorant stick, an excellent, natural alternative to the anti-perspirant I used to use. If you’re interested in trying it for yourself I have included the link to get more info http://www.thecrystal.com/crystal_insights.cfm. There are also recipes for making your own deodorant that I have heard work well too. If you’re interested in trying to make your own here is a link to a recipe http://homesteadrevival.blogspot.com/2011/01/homemade-deodorant.html. Good luck and good smells 🙂

Leave a Reply

