Hale to Kale!!

Hey Guys! It’s Sandy C. I just wanted to mention another “superfood” I have recently became fond of, It’s Kale!  I have always loved my spinach, from nibbling on it when I was a kid fresh from Mom’s garden to woofing it down when I was pregnant…. no pickles and ice cream cravings,  I just had to have a bag of spinach a day and about 4 oranges to satisfy my cravings!  Anyway, my spinach has to share the love with this new healthy leafy green vegetable. Kale is actually in same family as cabbage, collards, and brussel sprouts called the Brassica family. This green is packed full of nutrients such as vitamin A , vitamin C and loaded with vitamin K! (1327.6% of daily value in 1 cup to be exact!) Kale is also full of several types of antioxidants making it great for  anti-inflammatory purposes, is a cancer preventative, and provides great support for the detoxification processes of our bodies. Another great thing about this nutritional  plant is that it can be consumed in so many ways. I have found it in recipes ranging from salads and soups to smoothies and chips! If you haven’t already, you need to try it . I love having it in a salad with dried cranberries, a little feta cheese, and pecans or walnuts with my favorite salad dressing, a raspberry/ walnut vinegarette. Yum!  This vegetable that has been rated as one of the healthiest vegtables out  there!  So I say, Hale to Kale!  


Leave a Reply

